Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ponderous1

Just get started...pic heavy

ponderous1
12 years ago

I have just begun my garden, yesterday. I would love feedback to know I am headed in the right direction. I have 2 more 4' x 4' beds to build.

My question is fencing...I don't need much if any at all. You will see I am surrounded by my house, a 6' scallop topped cedar fence, my wood deck on the back of my house and a 42" retaining wall. The only areas are to the right of the bright red rhody is about 4' between the corner of my house and the fence and also the area between the corner of my deck and the retaining wall. The area at the corner of the deck is the natural entrance into the garden and I think I will be building an arbor as a more formal entrance. Is this one of those times where there is a potager where no fencing is needed? Would love your thoughts on the matter.

Comments (8)

• skitt
    12 years ago

I'm no expert, but I think a fence is unnecessary. An arbor entrance would be beautiful though. You may want to make your beds just a little bit further apart, it looks like you have a little bit more space. I may be misjudging, but measure so the center aisle is the same as the outside aisles.

• ponderous1
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Oh....they were just left there yesterday, I have not even begun to measure and place in their permanent home. I will do that once all 4 are built. :-)

Thank you for your feedback...I really appreciate input from others!

• girlgroupgirl
    12 years ago

Fences can be ornamental or utilitarian. I'm now fencing purely to help keep unwanted critters and humans out of my garden.
    If you choose to have a fence purely for ornamental reasons, it could be small, light weight and removable. It really doesn't appear that you need one to keep critters out (unless pets).
    I agree that once you've placed your garden, some definition around the garden is nice - an archway would be so pretty.