Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maggiewp_gw

Need advice on barrel composter

maggiewp
10 years ago

Hello fellow gardeners,

I am new to composting but am highly motivated. We have dogs/ deer/squirrels so I am interested in an enclosed composter to help keep these four-legged creatures out. I am considering the Rapid Blend Easy Composter sold by Garden's Alive. It is a turnable drum design with vented sides and barrel design that can hold 50 gal of material. Can anyone recommend it - or tell me why I shouldn't get it? It will only cost me $100 plus shipping if I buy it before my coupon expires. Unfortunately there are no reviews for it on their website.

Thank you in advance!

Comments (6)

• wirosarian_z4b_WI
    10 years ago

I'm not a fan of these kind of composting systems...why?...you'll find that they are way too small. If you are composting any amount of tree leaves & other materials, a barrel will not begin to handle them. I have a wire mesh bin that is 6' in diameter by 4' high & I have space so I can set up 3 of them if needed. Once you start using compost, you will find that you can never make enough of it to go around.

• maggiewp
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the input. Do you actually put food scraps in this compost system? I have done one like you suggest for grass clippings and leaves at my old house. But on this property I know I will attract all sorts of animals if it's open and has food in it.

• nancyjane_gardener
    10 years ago

You might want to do a search over in the compost forum.
    Most of them don't like tumbler type composting. I do, but I tumble for a couple of weeks, til partially broken down, then turn it into a free staning composter. Less work on my back IMHO. I also have 2 tumblers and 2 free standers, so I have a lot more to work with!