Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
girlgroupgirl

Who would like a Potager Seed Swap?

girlgroupgirl
17 years ago

Is anyone interested in a potager seed swap?

I would suggest that we try vegetables, herbs and some flowers. Not so heavy on flowers since there is the cottage garden swap coming along that most of us signed up for.

I'd be happy to run the swap although I may have to limit it to a certain # of people since I've never done one before...

Please let me know if you are interested, and post here. Then we'll know!

GGG

Comments (21)

• manzomecorvus
    17 years ago

That's a great idea! Of course you are going to offer up seeds of some of those yellow and stripey tomatoes, right?

• nberg7
    17 years ago

GGG- count me in please. I will for sure have lemon cucumbers and perennial false sunflower seeds and several herbs to share.
    -Nan

• reign
    17 years ago

I'm game too. I'll have some interesting heirloom vegetables and melons.

• haziemoon
    17 years ago

I usually buy plants for my potager, so I can get a jump on the growing season. I don't really have a place to start seeds.

Haziemoon

• girlgroupgirl
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Haziemoon, you need to do row covers! Have you tried that. Make your own miniature greenhouses out of hoops and sheets of plastic (held on with clips). You could really get some veggies going in there from seed, and have lots to plant out early!!

GGG

• mountainsong
    17 years ago

GGG,
    I'd love to get in on a swap, but I haven't done much seed-saving at all in my gardening career. I've gotten a book, and am starting to learn about it. When would this happen, at the end of the growing season, right? Oh, that's right, you're in GA, where you garden practically year-round. :-) Okay, so I mean, would the swap be in the fall? I'd like to try to save some seed and participate.

Mountainsong, in the Heart of NY

• klickitat
    17 years ago