Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tjbakergardener

Newbie Here!

tjbakergardener
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I've been reading your posts and learning so much information since this past winter. I put in our first garden this spring, and while I'm not quite sure that it is a traditional "portager", I thought I might share. I just call it my "Kitchen Garden"- well, that's what I tell all the people that stop by wondering what in the world I'm doing! :) At least I wanted to say Thank You for teaching me so much! I will try to put some pics in too.

Just starting out- April- view from my patio

New perennial bed- April

Things greening up in May

View from my Kitchen Window- left side of garden-

View from the Kitchen Window- right side of garden-

Kitchen window view June 28

{{gwi:89008}}

Kitchen window view - right side- June 28

{{gwi:89009}}

Comments (8)

• oliveoyl3
    12 years ago

Welcome! Thanks for giving us a peek at your fun in the sun. Looks like it's growing well & you've had some summer heat for those squash to flower. I'm jealous as western WA has had a unusually cool spring & summer so far. Today was a lovely day in the garden & I'll probably have some freckles now to prove it not just mosquito bites from all the rain.

You've obviously given it a lot of thought & hard work! Was that your little guy outside the fence? How fun that you included the sand box in the middle & it helps you keep an eye on them while you're working, too. Do the kids help work in the garden or just play?

Corrine

• tjbakergardener
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks Corinne! It did take some planning, but that gave me something to focus on this winter. :)