Return to the Potager Gardens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Experience with Lemon Gem Marigold

Posted by ali-b 6 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 20, 10 at 15:50

This is my first year growing Lemon Gem Marigold. I like its feathery foliage and interesting scent. My plants however seem to be dying. I notice that one will start looking more dry than the others. When that happens the plant dies within a few days. All of them receive the same amount of water as my veggies since they're growing in the same beds and the veggies are happy. Has anyone encountered this behavior with lemon gem? I've grown other varieties of marigolds and they've been very vigorous, lasting until a hard frost.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Experience with Lemon Gem Marigold

I love this plant and it smells delicious, but unfortunately it gets tired out by the end of August unlike other marigolds. I just pulled out all of mine.

o

Thanks for the info. I thought I was doing something wrong with the poor things.

o

Is this one of the marigolds that deters harmful nematodes? Ifso,it's worth planting every year even if it does stop blooming early.

o

I love this marigold but have a hard time finding starter plants in the spring although the seed is easy to find in most catalogs. I am trying to think of when the marigolds stop blooming. This year we had very dry weather for NH so they didn't bloom well at all. The leaves looked curled up so it wasn't until we finally got some good rain late in the season that the plants looked good. Not sure if they deter nematodes but they are such a delightful small plant with such a wonderful fragrance that I love them in all sorts of places beginning with the way they add color to my herb garden.