Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sandra_christie

layout of a potager in an irregular space

sandra_christie
16 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to this, having only gardened veg. in two raised beds this year, but I have the potager bug and am ripping out my lawn to satisfy this madness. HOWEVER, I will not have a nice rectangle or square shape to work with. I imagined a nice grid system of raised beds with paths bisecting them, and all leading to something wonderful in the center (sundial, fountain, etc.)

I DO like straight lines for order, and then I plant madly within those limits. My question is: how do I get the organized layout I'm looking for within this irregular shape? I feel as though I'm trying to force a square peg into a round hole.

Any help or ideas would be so appreciated, thanks, Sandra in Maryland

Comments (14)

• naplesgardener
    16 years ago

Oh I think straight lines are so boring. Think of a potager as something tucked around the edges of your yard. it should be functional not necessarily square.

The first thing I look for is sunlight. Where is it and how many hours do I have it and what is the best veggie to plant there. I have a small yard so have to be creative and stick large pots in areas to maximize space. I also have very poor soil so I don't have a large area to till up and plant in rows.

I think potagers CAN be pretty but I think functionality comes first.

• sandra_christie
    Original Author
    16 years ago

THanks for responding naplesgardener,
    I like your idea of tucking in around the edges, and I will investigate this as I believe it to be my best option, BUT, I did have the formal potager in my mind so I guess I'm going to have to get over that, and work with what I have.
    Does anyone have any pictures of potagers done in irregular spaces?
    Thanks!
    Sandra in MD

• wolfe15136
    16 years ago