Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
token28001

The beginning stages - in pictures

token28001
15 years ago

Well, this is my first time here. I thought this forum was about small veggie/herb gardens. Now I see it's about my garden too. And my lifestyle.

I bought a house that sits on 1/2 acre. The woods around the house had been encroaching on the land for a decade or more. Years ago, neighbors tell me, that this yard was something spectacular. The house is a 1946 cottage/cape and sits on the front corner of the lot.

I've been here a year and a half now. I've not only been working in the yard to reclaim land taken over by trees and overgrown and dying shrubs, but also inside the house remodeling everything. The bathroom, living room, hallway, and two bedrooms are nearly done. The dining room and kitchen come next.

Here's the house from the driveway.

{{gwi:625988}}

Notice all the overgrown shrubs and junk? It's gone now.

{{gwi:625990}}

Then there was the backyard.

This past summer, I had a small plot about 6' x 14' that I tried to grow corn, beans, tomatoes, squash, and watermelons in. Apparently, the clay soil that holds the rocks together wasn't the best. So I spent the later part of the summer hauling leaf mulch from the local landfill, pulling out rocks, concrete blocks, and tree stumps. This is the back corner bed and the surprises I found as I was digging.

As of yesterday, it looks like this.

This is the same bed where I dug out 28 concrete blocks, but from another angle.

I can't forget the side yard next to the driveway. That was my summer project. As you can see, it was in serious need of attention.

{{gwi:638153}}

{{gwi:638151}}

{{gwi:638150}}

So after removing some ill placed shrubs and their stumps, removing a mosquito trap someone called a pond, and hauling 4 loads of leaf mulch, two loads of wood mulch, and 18 wheelbarrows of rocks, it looks like this.

{{gwi:356976}}