Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nrynes

New to the forum

nrynes
19 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, but not new to Gardenweb. I've been hanging out on the Winter Sowing, Native Plants, and Rocky Mountain Gardening forums, but since I am now trying a short/mid grass prairie planting, I thought I'd start hanging out here too :)

My background is geology and botany, and I started my prairie resotoration craze back in college in Illinois. I helped put in and/or maintain 3 different tallgrass prairies (different sizes, slightly different ecosystems). I had a ton of fun doing it, so now that I have my own place on the western edge of the Great Plains, I'm going to convert part of my yard to short/midgrass prairie.

I live at 7500 feet where the foothills end and the prairie begins, in central CO (near Monument, if you want to check out a map). Soil is 2-3 ft of silty clay on top of a thick sand and sandstone bed, so I have what I call "well-drained" clay :)

I am "lucky" to live in a subdivision of 1 acre plots where letting your grass grow is the norm. There are only a few homes that have put in turfgrass - very much frowned upon by the HOA because of high water use (we're very concerned about water use here because of our dry conditions). Our HOA has already checked out my front yard xeric/natives garden and said they liked it - like I said, I'm living in the right place!! I've had a ton of positive comments from neighbors too, so at least I don't have to fight any battles at home.