Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jheyen_gw

Buffalo Grass for Turf

jheyen
19 years ago

I am an engineer that is working on a project in Northeastern Illinois that has a large expanse of open area the has existing turf grass on it that gets mowed at least once a week. I am specifically working on the drainage aspect of the site and am looking for a grass that has a better root structure that will allow for more water infiltration as well as a lower maintenance turf that will help me "sell" this idea to the client. I have been specifically looking at buffalograss becuase of it's low maturity height and excellent root depth. I was wondering what everyone's thoughts were on trying this. I know that buffalgrass is a warm weather grass, which concerns me as to the added maintenance needed to it because of weeds and such. I do, however, believe that the impacts of the increased infiltration can have a large impact on the amount of runoff in the area.

Also, if there are any other varities that you would suggest, I would be happy to hear about them. I am definitely not a horticulturalist or a biologist, so I don't have the background knowledge to know what to look for.

Thank you all for your time.

Comments (6)

• veronicastrum
    19 years ago

I would suggest you call one of these nurseries and explain your project. All of these nurseries are VERY helpful and willing to share their vast knowledge.

Agrecol - Madison, WI 608-226-2544
    Prairie Nursery - WEstfield, WI 800-476-9453
    Spence Restoration Nursery - Muncie, IN no phone # on website

They all have websites that can easily be found through Google. Spence in particular has a lot of drainage info.

Good for you for looking for a better alternative to turf grass!

V.

• Judy_B_ON
    19 years ago