Return to the Meadows & Prairies Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
RFI - Planting a Large Amount of Grass Seed

Posted by Trey44 WI (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 20, 12 at 0:29

Hello,

Recently, the government has taken some of my family's farm via eminent domain and built a road througth it. Needless to say it has been a very traumatic experience. We are trying to block it off as much as possible. My plan is to plant a few hundred trees.

Recently, an idea came to mind. I want to plant a swath of tall grass in front of where I will plant trees, as a cost effective cover.

My plan is to till a strip about 6-10ft wide and sow grass seed. After some research I have found that a switchass (Panicum virgatum) may be my best choice. The only other options I have come up with is Big Bluestem or Indian Grass.

The area is in full sun, and is relatively dry during the hot summer months. I have a lot of experience with trees and vegetable gardenin but do not know much about grasses, so any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

-Trey

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: RFI - Planting a Large Amount of Grass Seed

That actually sounds like a pretty good plan. Before you till it up though you may want to kill off whatever is there now with glyphosate. Grasses take time to develop in sive and giving them the least amount of competition with really speed up their growth. Once established you will never really have to worry about weed control. That being said, expect to wait a few years for your grasses to mature. I have planted all of the grasses you've mentioned from seed and they all took about 3 years to reach their full size.