Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenkin_gw

'Wildflowers in a Can/Box'

jenkin
22 years ago

I am very new to gardening and I've seen a lot of disparaging remarks about the "wildflowers in a can/box." We are in a rental house with lots of gardening room and I wanted to get a wildflower effect (simple) the most inexpensive way possible. So, I have bought several different kinds of packs, boxes and cans of flowers. I have planted a few packs, have a couple of packs & cans unopened and am wondering if I should return the unopened ones and try something new or just go for it (what the heck, eh?). What do you think? Here's a breakdown of what I've put out and what I have left to put out.

Already put out (last Sunday (4/7/02):

1) Ed Hume Seeds - Hummingbird & Butterfly Flower Garden Mixture (seed pack) - includes Rose Mallow, Candytuft, Foxglove, Coneflower, Gayfeather, Asclepias, Coreopsis, Dianthus, Monarda, Phlox, Lavender, Crimson Clover, Gilia, Penstemon, Delphinum, Gaillardia, Salvia, Lupine, Bachelors Buttons, Columbine, Cleome, Gloriosa Daisy, Godetia, Scabiosa and Zinnia.

2) Ed Hume Seeds - Perennial Rock Garden Low Growing Flower Mixture (seed pack) - includes Alyssum, Arabis, Aubretia, Dianthus, English Daisy, Iberis, Livingstone Daisy, Lobelia, Phlox, Portulaca, Thyme, Campanula, Cerastium, Armeria, Saponaria and Dwarf Catchchfly.

3) Ed Hume Seeds - Perennial Flower Garden Mix (seed pack) - includes Lupine, Gloriosa and Shasta Daisies, Iceland Poppy, Hollyhock, Delphinium, Columbine, Sallflower, Coreopsis and Gaillardia.

Bought, but not put out yet:

1) Ed Hume Seeds - Children's Garden Cut Flower Mixture (seed pack) - includes Alyssum, Babysbreath, Bachelor Buttons, Balsam, Calendula, Candytuft, Clarkia, Cosmos, Dianthus, Godetia, Larkspur, Linaria, Marigold, Nemophila, Painted Daisy, Poppy, Stocks and Zinnia.