Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pennys_from_heaven

New construction meadow behind drain field

pennys_from_heaven
16 years ago

We just built a new home on 5 acres. We are having an outdoor wedding on Aug 18 and the entire lot is dirt (mostly clay) and weeds. I want to plant a meadow behind the drain field that runs across the property. I'm new to gardening as I've never had a place to garden. Any suggestions for a beautiful QUICK meadow before my wedding day. I would like it to be low maintnance :) and perinneal. Watering may be a problem because it is located so far back. Any suggestions would be much apprecaited.... Thanks!

Comments (5)

• bob64
    16 years ago

Quick is always difficult; especially if you want to use real native prairie plants. Buffalo grass comes to mind but I'm not sure and don't have a lot of experience with it. In some areas you can buy Buffalo grass as sod which is about as quick as quick gets. Since you need to cover the bare dirt by August maybe you should go with a temporary solution of clover and/or an annual grass that you can replace after the wedding. Even mowed weeds would be something like cover.

• joepyeweed
    16 years ago

How much money do you want to spend?

You really don't have enough time to establish a beautiful meadow in one growing season to be ready for your wedding. Though low maintenance and drought tolerant it would be, once it was established.

Though I guess you could purchase a bunch of 1 gallon pre-grown plants to fill in the area, that would bloom by fall... but at about $5 to $7 per plant, it would be very pricy.

A typical meadow planting from seed takes about three years to mature and really look beautiful.

• juudyshouse2012
    16 years ago