Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pufftrinket

Is a 5-7 acre yard a prairie?

pufftrinket
18 years ago

Hi all-

I'm new to all this.

I have a really big yard. I am planting all kinds of wildfowers and things. It almost seems like my way of thinking is much to "big" for other threads- most of what I am planting is considered invasive by many gardeners. Rest assured, I AM continuing to do my research diligently, and avoiding those plants on my state's bad lists, as well as those that might cause problems for my neighbors. I'd really like to talk with others who are working in these kinds of larger areas.

I put a link to some pics below- they comprise maybe one tenth of my space. Anyone have any thoughts?

Here is a link that might be useful: Puff's space, take one

Comments (5)

• john_mo
    18 years ago

Hmm...whether or not your site is a 'prairie' is hard to tell, since I couldn't access your photo site and don't knwo what you have been planting. It is certainly large enough for you to develop some extensive prairie-type habitat. Speaking for myself (and probably for most of the other participants in this site), 'prairie gardening' is an attempt to reproduce the type of mixed grass and forb community that occurred naturally in central and east central North America.

Based on this viewpoint, I would hope you would go beyond avoiding noxious weeds and move towards actively selecting native prairie grasses and forbs. Southern Michigan was on the north-east margin of the tallgrass prairie region, so you should be able to find a good list of native prairie plants that can be used to guide you in plant selection. Some native prairie species can indeed be quite aggressive, but the size of your area should allow you to plant just about any sort of native that is adapted to your soil and climate conditions.