Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardeninprogress_gw

just starting out

gardeninprogress
16 years ago

I'm 'trying' to start a wildflower/prairie garden in northern Michigan. I'm not a professional gardener, and prefer to work w/ the local environment. . . enhancing what already exists rather than trying to modify it. I like the idea of having wildflowers growing w/ the natural grasses that are already in the area.

We have LOTS of wildlife ranging from wild turkeys to deer and black bear.

The soil is sand. The area I'm trying to cover is a raised septic field out by the roadside. This area has partial shade w/ many mature oak, pine, and birch trees.

I sowed seed last spring and in the fall again. . . Unfortunately, I removed the moss and grasses in the area prior to sowing seed. This was recommended to us by the expert gardeners. . . However. . . A flock of wild turkeys came to feast on the seed shortly after I rolled the seed into the ground. Needless to say, I've got a few plants and barren sand at the moment.

I'm going to try this again. . . ANY IDEAS to preserve the seed from the area wildlife??????

Comments (8)

• ladyslppr
    16 years ago

You could start the seeds in pots and transplant to the ground. Another option is to transplant from nearby into the spot - many wildflowers can be divided to produce a new plant or two without removing the original. This will give you authentic, local strains of wildflowers adapted to your area. Also, I think if you sow smaller patches of ground, rather than seed the entire area, you'll attract fewer seed eaters and manage to get at least a few seedlings.

• gardeninprogress
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi Ladyslppr,

Thanks for the advice. I transplanted a few garden renegades to the area last fall.

Just so happens people gave me 5lbs. of wildflower seed to sow over this 1000 sq. foot area.

I think your'e right about adapting local strains. There's White yarrow in the area at the moment.