Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deeeeeleeeeete

what do I need to know

Debbie Downer
10 years ago

Greetings, Im thinking of going professional with garden and outdoor space design and installation. I would hire out someone to do the carpentry and construction of fences and garden structures (if any) - I would do design, planting, small pond construction (if any).

Im just starting out asking around about what kind of training might be useful - I have absolutely no clue about how to draw up the design and present the information to a client or to someone doing the construction - what software do yall use?

Ive done bookkeeping and can manage the business end of it. Anything else I should know? I imagine theres things I would need to know, that I don't know that I need to know!

My niche would be more like smaller, more intimate urban spaces, not big sprawling commercial landscapes or anything like - so I don't know if Im up for an entire landscaping or landscape architecture degree. That would be overkill I think? Open to suggestions!

Comments (2)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

A successful landscape designer must be more than a decorator. A finished project should be able to withstand a long test of time. To that end, the designer must know a great deal about plants ' growth habits and environmental requirements, soil science, tree protection, property development, irrigation design and more.

That's before the drawing up of a design.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    10 years ago