Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abacoian

Easy plants from seed to start a small business?

abacoian
15 years ago

Hello all. I'm not a professional but please be patient with me. I have a spinal cord injury so it is not easy for me to find a full time job. But I do love gardening and saw in the local classifieds a new listing for plants. So I was thinking I could start small, maybe with one type of plant and put in a listing and see if I get any sales.

I am hoping to grow something that is easy and beautiful. Right now since I do have the seeds I am considering blanket flower, milkeed and dwarf poiciena.

Blanket flower is so easy to grow and has beautiful flowers and is a definite choice but I'm not sure of it's life span and would not want to sell a plant that dies after a year. Any information on this choice is appreciated.

I planted 4 dwarf poiciena seeds and they all sprouted very quickly and the blooms are beautiful so I think it could be a good choice.

I can also get many coral vine and lantana seeds if I wanted to try them.

Anyway, I appreciate any suggestions and help on my idea.

Also I want to say I really do love gardening and it's not about money, just that I need it for bills.

Thank you again!

Ian

Comments (12)

• laag
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Two rules of thumb:
    1. If it is easy, it does not command a high price and is offered by a lot of people.
    2. Whatever you can grow and market on a small scale can be produced much more cost effectively by a larger scale operation which means that they can often sell it for less than it costs you to produce it making it very difficult for you to sell yours at a profit.

• auntyara
    15 years ago

Hi,
    I do that too. right from my side yard.
    what you find easy is not always easy for everyone.
    grow what you like to start and people will ask if you have this or that and that;s how you know what to plant next.
    I sell my plants in solo(keg cups) for $2.00 each.