Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shenandoah_gw

Just Say No to Free Publicity

shenandoah
19 years ago

Help me understand something. I'm a writer, work freelance for several regional mags, specialize in garden stories. Most recent assignment is about the green industry, so I pick a few of the best nurseries in the area (in my opinion), get the basic data on my own by surfing the web, so I'm well-prepared before I start making contact. Then I call. I've been doing this for years, so I know better than to say simply, "I'm so-and-so from Whoozitz Mag," or they think right off that I'm selling advertising, so I'm always sure to ask for the owner/manager and then say, "My name is SO-and-So, I'm a WRITER for Whoozitz Magazine, I'm doing a story about high-quality nurseries, and I'd like to talk with you briefly IF IT's CONVENIENT." But I couldn't believe it, at the first nursery I called this week --which has good product but is miles off the beaten path -- I asked for the owner or manager and the guy says "that's me", I relay the information above, and before I can even say "If this is a bad time I can give you my number and you can call me back," he says "I'm with a customer and I can't talk. Thanks for calling." And he hangs up on me. Needless to say, his business is out of the story, and this is for a regional monthly glossy mag that goes to a market with disposable income and a high degree of interest in gardening (according to out market survey). And I just don't get it. For maybe a $50 sale he turned down $2,500 worth of free advertising, color photos and all. Or maybe he just doesn't like talking on the phone. But the weird thing is, this isn't the first time something like this has happened to me with a "professional gardener." One time I called a local small retailer for a story about Christmas gift ideas, with the retailers' info featured and their products listed. The woman put her hand over the phone to talk to an assistant, only she didn't cover it too well,