Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mojo4_gw

best pay method for independent designers working for nurseries

mojo4
12 years ago

Hello

I am an independent designer (+maintenance/consulting) that has just recently been asked by a local nursery to do design work for them. I would not be staff, but contracted as needed. My question is for other independent designers out there that have done this type of work or are currently doing it. Do you get paid hourly, or by a certain percentage rate of the overall job cost? Also, how do you ensure payment for a design if the client decides to not use the nursery for plants or install after you've already completed the design? Any other advice? Pros vs Cons? Horror stories? Thanks in advance for your expertise!

Comments (4)

• marcinde
    12 years ago

Here's how my relationship with a garden center works: an on-site consultation is $75 (split with the nursery) which is applied towards any installation work they do with the nursery. This is a really important thing, because I've learned that you get a LOT of tire kickers and brain pickers through a nursery. I had one woman want me to come out and tell her where to place the two flats of annuals she bought with a Groupon and she was FURIOUS that there was a charge to come out. Seriously.

That consultation buys you my eyes and a conversation. I use my judgement; if it's a small, quick planting screen or something I'll figure it out on the spot and quote it out, but anything more involved I don't draw a thing without a design fee.

Once I sell an install the nursery then pays me a percentage for the sale and to manage the install. Usually that involves laying the job out and talking through the plan with the guys, although there have been more complex jobs. And there was the time I got to stand in the November rain with the crew, the homeowner, and the fire department after someone slammed a pick through a gasline.