Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mudhoney

Landscapers and seasonal affective disorder

mudhoney
16 years ago

I'm a landscaper and every year when the rains come in (about mid november) I start losing motivation and energy. Even if I have jobs, I'm not highly motivated to get going on them this time of year. Even working on designs is like trying to pull my own teeth. But then, come about February, I'm chomping at the bit to get going on some good-sized project. I've got two questions for other professionals--do you notice that same seasonal wax and wane of mood and energy? and do you think you chose an outdoor profession because of a physiological need to be outdoors as much as possible? Same questions if you work in a greenhouse most of the time.

Comments (10)

• watergal
    16 years ago

I've had severe S.A.D. for many years, since my teens or 20's (I'm now in my 40's). Mine starts in October and doesn't let up until mid to late March.

I didn't get into plants as a profession until I was about 40. I found that working at a garden center was hard, because there was no work in January or February, and sitting around the house just got me more depressed. Now I'm doing interior landscaping, and working year-round helps, as does the physical activity required of the job.

I've also always hated cold weather, so doing outdoor landscaping in the winter, or outdoor ANYTHING, for that matter, is not something I want to do. I'd rather sit on the couch with my blanket and my warm puppy on my lap!

I've been into plants since I was a small child, so I'm not sure I chose the profession because of some physiological need, but that's an interesting concept. Would make a good doctoral dissertation for a psychiatric student!

Back when I was a stay-at-home mom, I did find myself wandering around the few greenhouses that were open in the winter, trying to get some light and a plant fix.