Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigviclbi

Proffesional Question

BIGVICLBI
19 years ago

Hi I have a question about the design/build process with Landscape Designers. Do most of them hire contractors to do their work, or do most of them do it themselves? I am a landscape contractor in my third year in NJ and would like to contact some designers to see about working for them, but what would be the best way of goibg about this. I feel like I would sound desperate calling them, but I would like to start working with a "design professional" as I think it would be a good learning experience. I am also looking for good design software, Landscape Pro looks good but is about $1000. I've used cheaper programs well, but really want my designs to look as good as my finished gardens do. Any info would be great.

Comments (12)

• laag
    19 years ago

Most landscape designers build their landscapes. Many of those do not want to, but need to in order to survive (compete). I think you could find designers willing to work with you if you are truly willing to work with them. By that, I mean that they want, really need, to have their work built as they have designed it.

One of the biggest complaints designers make is that the contractor does not want to follow the plan and sometimes contradicts the designer to the client to avoid doing something he does not want to. At the same time, experienced contractors may be aware of things on a plan that won't work as intended. It is a two way street.

You should be able to find plenty of designers who would like to use you, especially if you are more equiped and have the skills to get the job done as long as you both communicate through the design to make sure that each is comfortable with the plan.

Your post does sound more like you want to use the designer to train you rather than form good working relations with, though. If that is the case, your not on the right foot for building a good trusting relationship with designers.