Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gllc21

What is your most popular size?

gllc21
16 years ago

As I am studying all the info from the brokers about plugs it comes to mind that in my opinion a 4" plant may be your best bet. So I thought I would ask all of you what size do you sale? I see that even using liners you could have a little too much in a 6 pack. Any opinions to help me wrap my head around this better?

Thanks!!

Comments (5)

• jspece
    16 years ago

Our bedding plants are grown almost exclusively in 4" pots. About the only way "paks" could be economical is if you grow them from seed yourself. Paks have pretty much fallen out of favor altogether.

• hitexplanter
    16 years ago

I agree in all three places that I have worked for and the time I owned a wholesale nursery biz even when seeding by hand I do the sale of size 4 inch and up. I feel that only with automation can you even consider trying much for cell packs. I do however buy in a limited amount of 6 pack and 9 pack of veggies and jumbo 6 packs of spring annuals. The money and most of the demand is 4 inch and above.
    Happy Growing David

• gllc21
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks... I have yet to find anyone around here for me to buy in the smaller sizes.

• calliope
    16 years ago

I have different niches, and a lot of my growing is custom, so I go with what they want. The garden clubs and fund raisers often want cell packs. They sell to gardeners who know what kind of difficulty is involved in something like an impatien or marigold and would be very hesitant about paying a premium price for a four inch pot of a plant they know they could direct sow and grow like a weed, catching up with a potted plant in a matter of weeks.