Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike_larkin

Landscape Designer working with Contractor

Mike Larkin
12 years ago

I am a Landscape Designer. A Landscape Contractor who tried to do his own design work but could not keep up contacted me and want to work together on his Landscape Projects.

He will meet with client, and get preliminary information, convey that information to me, then I go to site, draw a draft plan so that he can bid the project and present to client. If the cleint accepts I will finalize the plan at the level of detail that the Landscape Contractor needs work from.

My fee is contingent on the acceptance of the proposal and I would then get a % of the total invoice.

My concerns:

There may be time that I do work and dont get paid. (not a big deal if he does a good job bidding the plan) I would have to consider that when negotiating the percentage.

If I dont meet with the client, I woul dhave to make sure that he gathers adequet information from client. ( which plants stay or go, where they want the fire pit , or the patio.... ( this could be worked out with a good check list and sketches or just meet with the cleint.

Fee - how do I confimr he is paying me the correct amount. I would prefer not to just take his word that the job was $xxx .

ANy suggestions on how this may work or why not to do it.

Mike

Comments (7)

• Embothrium
    12 years ago

Would of course be better to structure it so that you always get paid at least a certain minimum fee, that you are comfortable with.

If in doubt, don't.

A friend is in a similar arrangement and is doing a lot of drawing for not so much money. Part of the problem is clients thinking they should not have to pay for designing, this includes projects where a certified professional's involvement is required by governing bodies.

So the contractor is hiding the design fees in the overall budget, and so on.