Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pwnie

Selling hybrid plants from other nurseries and copyright issues?

Pwnie
12 years ago

Hey, everyone.

I have been topiary-ing and training coleus for a few years now and consistently get asked if I am willing to sell my plants. I often gift them to friends and family, but I am wondering what legal issues are involved in selling plants that I get from other growers. Most of my coleus I purchase from Rosy Dawn Gardens - I believe they hybridize the majority of their coleus, but I haven't been able to find any information as to whether or not their hybrids are under copywrite. If I take cuttings off their plants, topiary them and sell them am I under some sort of infringement, even if I don't claim the varieties as my own?

Thanks for your help. :)

Cheers,

Pwnie

Comments (6)

• calliope
    12 years ago