Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
passion4gardening

Any marketing/advertising ideas for a new start up?

passion4gardening
13 years ago

Hello everyone,

Recently relocated to Grand Rapids, MI. My wife got a great teaching job here. It was hard to leave my gardening clients in SE MI, but I felt it would be unwise in this economy to turn down such a great teaching opportunity here.

Over the past 5 years my garden business experience was a mix of garden maintenance, design and coaching/consulting work. I have a horticulture degree and have been gardening for over 20 years. My clients were mainly busy professional couples, seniors and "retired gardeners".

Anyway, over the years I've tried to attract new clients using business postcards, fliers and small magazine ads without much luck. I'll be starting over this spring and just wanted to see of anyone has had any luck with other marketing/advertising methods.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments (4)

• juliethegardener
    13 years ago

Boy, good luck!

I run a small gardening business and for the first time in 25 years, I've started sending out postcards advertising my services. Got one call without a follow up the other day, and that was it. I've always had word of mouth recommendations, but with this economy, we've lost over a third of our clients and I've had to cut down the hours of my employees.

• passion4gardening
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the reply Julie. Sorry to hear about your client loss.

I've tried business cards before and only got a few calls myself. Think I'm going to contact some luxury real estate brokers and see if they could use my help when getting properties ready to sell. It was interesting to find out that all the gardening companies here all charge the same price.

• rachel_z6
    13 years ago