Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardengypsy_gw

Initial Consultation

GardenGypsy
19 years ago

Hello all!

I've been reading all the past posts for quite a while now and need a bit of advice. I am just starting up my own gardening biz (very small scale). I am planning to concentrate on garden recovery, maintenance, containers and the like. I am my crew... if you know what I mean.

My question is, do you charge for your first visit w/ a potential client and how do you figure the charge?

I was thinking that I would do the first hour consult/interview free of charge. However, my regular per hour fee is $25. What should I do if the client is a talker and wants to keep me there all day on that first visit? Help!

Comments (16)

• GreenieBeanie
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I charge for the initial consultation, but apply it to the design fee if they accept my proposal. However, I'm a designer, so this may be a little different.

If you 're just doing maintenance, it might be reasonable to say that you give a 1/2 hour free consultation, and bill your regular rate after that. I'll be interested to hear other's thoughts on this.

I don't know where you live, but in our neck of the woods, the minimum for maintenance, and that is unskilled labor, is $35 per hour.

Best of luck!

• phdnc
    19 years ago

Working by/for your self, time is money!!
    Most consultaions you'll give will be known up front. In other words you are going to the folks property to help them out with their garden/landscape problems. I would charge for this type of service. If a design comes out of this meeting, I have to go along with GB and apply it to the design fee. When doing consultaion don't be stuck giving out an hours worth of free advice and nothing comes from it. mho
    P

• Shag
    19 years ago