Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taitai_gw

How do I sell myself??

taitai
17 years ago

I'm a 40 year old male. I love plants and gardening. I have done gardening for a couple of people over the years, who were very happy with my work. My home was in the local gardenwalk last year. I am mostly self taught. I would say I am fairly knowledgeable and a hard worker. I currently work in construction. I would love to someday move into a horticulture career of some type. I would really like something in plant production / greenhouse type of work. My problem for the last two years I have been applying for seasonal greenhouse help jobs, and I don't even get a interview. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. These are $5.50 - $6.00 jobs. I would think someone with experience and willingness to work would be a great find. Is there something employers look for that Im missing? Are there that many people applying for these jobs? I wonder if its my age. I don't know..

Comments (7)

• The_Mohave__Kid
    17 years ago

Difficult to say .. maybe you are overqualified ?? At $6.00 an hour they are really looking for brute labor .. do as your told types use you and get rid of you when things slow down .. Does that sound like what you are looking for ?? ... then maybe it's good you did not get the job and there is no shortage of workers in the green industry that I know of in this price range.

Green house production ?? .. it would be a big plus to have some formal education at least two years and four would be better ... I would think you need to find a position where your construction experience would pay off initially for your employer .. like renovating .. building setting up green house operations. Plumbing .. electrical .. framing. Maybe ??

... then you would be in the $15 to $20 range ?? If they could afford it ...?

Ofcourse I have no idea what your construction experience is but I'll tell you the green industry can and often is a rat race. So I'd think twice .. even three times.