Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
idixierose

Wage & salary ranges in Southeast

idixierose
16 years ago

I'd like to hear about wage and salary ranges for horticultural and gardening work in the Southeast and in South Carolina in particular.

I work as a horticulturist in landscape maintenance for a real estate development & golf corporation that employees about 600 people. Starting hourly rate was $13/hour, plus health/life insurance, sick leave, vacation. Merit raises up to 4% per year.

Perhaps a union would help us better negotiate with the corporation.

Comments (16)

• laurabs
    16 years ago

Surely you looked into pay before choosing the career?

What career would you compare skills and education with? My research has shown that a lot of fields really don't pay well, even with 2- or 4-year degrees and complicated and difficult work with bad hours, so if making money is a priority, you really do have to choose carefully.

Unions just cause expenses to go through the roof and profits to drop so low that companies close or move offshore.

• hitexplanter
    16 years ago

Dang where do I apply. Come to Texas if you want to find out how cheap folks value horticulturists. You have to be in this field and work for someone else because you love it not for the pay. Go to work for yourself is the only way to get what you are worth and that may or may not pay what this company is currently paying. Your choice. I am thinking seriously about getting back on the self-employeed end because of this and I know I am worth way more than I am being paid but the reality is you give up the stability of security for the chance to work your butt off and hope at the end of the year you made more than you paid out. It is no picnic but it still the only time of my life where I made more money than working for some else. I am going on 50 with 22 years in this field half for myself and half working for some one else.
    I wish you the best whatever you choose to do.