Return to the Professional Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Giving a discount for cash payment

Posted by sebben 6NY (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 1, 05 at 11:10

I have a small landscape design/build company here in Brooklyn NY. I am in my second year of business and finally getting to the business part of things. My question is, how do I determine what type of discount to give for cahs payment? Most of my projects are in the $4k- $15k price range. I have 3 parttime employees whic I use as needed. I know that I pay about $9.50 per $100 of salary to workers comp. I also have liability insurance, storage space, car etc as expenses. Is there a reliabale formula to compute what type of discount I can give for cash? I know that I will save on WC etc. If I pay the workers cash on cash jobs but what else do I need to know to decide if maybe 5% off for a cash payment will work?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Giving a discount for cash payment

• Posted by Shag z4 MT (My Page) on
    Tue, Mar 1, 05 at 11:29

Sounds to me like you're getting into dangerous waters (read: illegal/unethical) by paying your workers cash when clients pay you cash -- doing that to "save on WC" Don't get caught. Better yet, don't do it. I do not give referrals to landscape installation companies who are not paying WC and not running their businesses legitimately.

o

Whatever discount you offer, whatever you save in WC, is not worth the ultimate personal cost to you should one of your employees get hurt on the job.

And for God's sake, don't let your WC Insurance provider find out you're doing this!

o