Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
watergal_gw

How to avoid burnout?

watergal
17 years ago

I work as a technician for an interior landscaping company. After a few years, I feel burnout starting to set in. I love what I do and I'm good at it, it just seems to be getting a little stale. It probably doesn't help that one of our best employees moved away and now things just don't run very smoothly any more.

I've thought about trying to move up in the business, but I really don't want to do sales or management.

Any suggestions on how I can regenerate some enthusiasm?

Comments (31)

• Cady
    17 years ago

Do you have design skills that would allow you to propose an interior plantscape design role you could add to your current work, or to advance to beyond your tech/care position?

If you are bored with the technical care of plants, and there is no flexibility to expand responsibilities that would allow you to be creative, then I'm not sure how to generate new enthusiasm. You might simply have outgrown that kind of work and maybe need to explore other areas in the field of horticulture.

• thistle5
    17 years ago

I felt like there weren't alot of responses right away because many of us feel the same burnout-even though it's spring, my favorite time of the year, it's also stressful for people in our line of work. I can understand how moving up to management or sales wouldn't help- at this point, our store has too many chiefs & not enough Indians-a core group has been there for awhile, has alot of plant knowledge, but what's really needed now are cashiers (the POS system has become more difficult in the 2 years I've been there & the pay is minimal).