Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thegreenlady

Charging hourly? Client contracts?

TheGreenLady
19 years ago

Since I am new to the Garden Web I have enjoyed everyone's suggestions on starting up a gardening business. After many years of wanting to start my own, I have finally done it. The business will mostly be small scale design, installation, maintenence and a large focus on container gardening. I have maintained,and installed gardens for friends and reletives in the past and am pretty familier with tracking time and expenses.

I have usually charged by the hour for my services and plan on starting the business that way, however I was wondering if anyone had any input on not charging hourly but "bidding" the job? Is this more cost effective? I have always felt that I may short myself if the job takes longer than I have already quoted.

My second question deals with contracts. Do you have to have them? And if so what type of outline is typical of a contract? As I have said dealing with family and friends is usually verbal, but dealing with the public is most likely a different story.

Any input you may have will be greatly appreciated.

Comments (2)

• The_Mohave__Kid
    19 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

"As I have said dealing with family and friends is usually verbal, but dealing with the public is most likely a different story."

It is indeed !!!

"My second question deals with contracts. Do you have to have them? "

Look at it this way ... if there is a disagreement and worst case scenario you end up in court in front of a judge ... a well written contract will serve you better then ... "I said this and they said that" .. Also a well written contract is a major factor in avoiding disagreements and ending up in court in the first place.

Written contracts are also part of your internal record keeping ... there is much to learn by looking over past projects .. we are not cave men .. written records are important ... right ??