Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
awayinthegarden

charging for garden service..

awayinthegarden
17 years ago

I've been gardening for 10 years (took Master Gardener class too) and this year someone has asked me to design several mixed flower pots and window boxes and I don't have a clue on how to charge. I live in a large metro area and know I don't won't to charge per hour. Could I add a percentage to the plant material (10 % ?) to pay for time driving and collecting and some profit make sense. In addition I'd charge according to size of pot size (including a design fee and soil cost-plus small profit). Or does anyone know of a book to calculate costs? Thank you- I'd appreciate any advice.

Katie

Comments (17)

• watergal
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Even if you're not going to charge by the hour, do the mental calculations first to come up with a price. Otherwise you will end up underpricing yourself.

Say you want to earn $10 an hour and it takes you two hours to drive and meet with the client to discuss plans, an hour to do design, another hour to go to the nursery and select the plants, other hour round trip to the client and back to do the install, two hours to plant everything. That's $70 just for your time, and you really deserve more than $10 an hour. Also calculate gas expenses.

Also carefully consider what sort of guarantee you will offer. If the client doesn't properly care for the containers (they don't water as often as they should, or they drown them), they will likely be calling you to complain about your work, which is not fair, but a fact of life. Cover your rear end ahead of time on this one.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

Why a SMALL profit?

Why not a FAIR profit for your time and expertise?

• awayinthegarden
    Original Author
    17 years ago