Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mich_in_zonal_denial

Lessons I'm still learning.

The lesson for this week. :

Get references from other professionals , such as contractors, who have previously worked for your new potential client.

If I took my own advice I would have found out about some real lulu's and could have either declined the new project all together or inflated my billing rate to match the 'as-hole factor'.

So from now on, I will ask a new client , especially one who just underwent a new renovation project to provide me with the names of some references of contractors and or any other building related professional that they have recently worked with.

It's the beginning of the season, and there is no reason to work for idiots or those with unrealistic expectations.

Comments (27)

• DonFenwick
    19 years ago

It brings to mind a job we went to quote on a while back. The client had just had her house remodeled and was now looking to get the landscape done. She offered to tour us through her newly remodeled home. In every room she had complaints about how the work was done and described in detail how she had refused to pay one contractor and demanded that another rip out cabinets that weren't straight (in a 125 yr old farmhouse that didn't have a straight wall in it.) Then she showed us her dining room and apologised for the poor wallpaper job (it looked almost perfect to me). She explained that her children had done it as a Mother's day gift but they did a poor job. We knew right then to decline the job as anyone so spiteful as to berate a gift from her children would never be pleased.

Lesson learned - Spend some time talking to the client to get a feel for their personality and psychology and decide if you really want to enter into any kind of relationship with them. Some jobs just aren't worth it.

• cris
    19 years ago