Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dcdesign_gw

help with commercial pricing???

dcdesign
17 years ago

I am a landscape designer, residential.. but have just been landed this huge job..

i have been asked to design the communal spaces for a new condo of 100 apartments ..

i have no idea what to charge for concept /design.. can anyone help?

thanks

Comments (4)

• laag
    17 years ago

Well, have they defined the scope of the work, or is that up to you?
    It should not be a mystery if you know what the work entails. If you don't know what the work entails you should define it and price out what you have defined for the scope of work.

What about it leaves you feeling like you don't know what to charge?

• lnscapr
    17 years ago

I usually charge a flat fee for my residential designs...commercial is sometimes more difficult to estimate. Are you and your clients comfortable with quoting an hourly rate and "guesstimate" of the time it may take for a concept? That way you have a bit of a "fudge" factor if it takes more or less time than you thought.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

Who would charge an hourly rate for a design project? Can't imagine that.

Just make sure that you know FOR CERTAIN what your fee covers. Some clients think that they will be entitled to twenty complete changes, lol! (Commercial clients can be especially difficult, sometimes.)

• laag
    17 years ago

"make sure that you know FOR CERTAIN what your fee covers"

The best way to do that is to write the contract yourself. This is one of those things that separates someone who can do good design work from someone who is a professional designer. Designing is only a part of the business.