Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lucusd

plant databases/plant list with cultural notes

LucusD
18 years ago

Hi everyone,

I have a query and would be very happy if anyone could help. I am thinking about compiling a plant database to help me with simple references when IÂm out at work. I currently work as a landscape gardener and often need details on the cultural requirements (pruning, flowering times etc.) of plants. I just purchased a palm PDA and it can display excel files which would be perfect for my situation. Simply put IÂm just looking for an alphabetical list of plant names and any associated notes associated with them.IÂm from Sydney Australia so I guess thatÂs a warm temperate region. Are there any good databases or even text files or lists out there which could help me compile my own database? IÂm happy to buy one but unfortunately I canÂt find anything that would suit my needs.

If anyone could help me on this matter it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks again

Luke

Comments (5)

• trianglejohn
    18 years ago

Don't know if it will help, but the giant two book set 'Flora' an encyclopedia of blooming plants of the world, comes with a cd. I've only opened it once but it appears to be the whole book on disk. Besides extra photos it had cultural requirements.

• creatrix
    18 years ago

I'll be interested to see if anyone has seen such a critter! I'm building my own as I do designs. The best I've got is a publication from VA Tech. I don't know if you've got any of the shrubs on it down there, but here's the link-

Here is a link that might be useful: Shrub Pruning calendar

• lazy_gardens
    18 years ago

Lucus -
    I built my own by scavenging from several local plant lists (for Phoenix, AZ). I grabbed them, did what was necessary to get into a table, sorted by genus and species, deleted dupes, then added notes for the plants I planned to use for the project I was developing. As I research a plant, I add detail.

My categories: