Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julieann_grow

Reworking contaminated lawns

julieann_grow
17 years ago

I'm a remodeling contractor in New Orleans (with an avid interest in organic gardening on the side). I have many clients whose yards need to be restored after the flooding here(sat in that yuck for 2 weeks). The water had salts, hydrocarbons, metals...who knows what? There is a void of true guidance about what was there and what to do about it. So, I have taken on the task of educating myself about rebuilding these lawns (including my own).

I know this is not true remediation of a major contamination, but rather a realistic/cost effective approach that gets people a healthy top layer of soil and new sod.

Here is part of the approach. I look forward to hearing from you soil and lawn experts. I really want to stay organic as to not put anymore chemicals in the soil.

Here's what the devastated scene looks like: all sod dead, most landscaping dead, huge green weeds (3 ft high), lots of small weeds and it smells bad. I will have soil tests done to determine ph and salts, mostly. Suffice it to say that the other stuff is in there. Then,

1. Remove all large weeds and dead bushes by the roots (dig up by hand).

2. With a bobcat, remove the top 1" or so of soil and all the dead sod.

3. With a small tiller, add some good organic matter. I have access to earthworm castings in bulk, but not compost in my area. Would a small "sprinkling" (1/8") of casting be worth it? A 1/4" or 1/2" layer would not be cost effective.

4. Add ammendments, prior to tilling, that would be needed to adjust the ph. Use soil test as guide.

5. Is there anything else that would be good to till into the soil at this point?

6. After tilling, add Mycorrhizal Fungi and benefical bacteria to the top of the soil.