Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnaw_gw

rock garden

johnaw
15 years ago

I would like to know how to make a Rock Garden and what type of plants one should put in them? What type of rocks to use? This could make the garden look strong and beautiful along with the type of plants you would put in it.

Comments (7)

• bonsai_audge
    15 years ago

Hello John,

That's a big question to answer. There is a dedicated Alpine and Rock Garden forum which is part of Gardenweb.

A Google search of the phrase "rock garden" brings up quite a bit of information about the subject. You could find a lot the answers to your questions on those websites.

- Audric

• johnaw
    Original Author
    15 years ago

As a Professional I was hoping that you could help me with some of these questions, just as the types of rocks to use types of plants to use? I hate to take away from your time.

• laag
    15 years ago

There are more than one way to skin a cat (my cat is giving me a dirty look as Iwrite this).

You can do an alpine perennial garden, a Japanese or Chinese style garden, or even something uniique.

My opinion is that you should try to stick to similar rocks, meaning that a light quartzite will not usually go well with basalt or dark weathered granite. The reason is that as a visual element stone is very powerful at unifying a composition. Varying the type of stone takes away from that unity and can become a powerful force in fragmenting a composition.

That strong unity is so powerful that it allows the designer to do all kinds of crazy things that he otherwise could not get away with. It gives license to use all kinds of color and contrasting texture and form without losing unity.

Variety in shape and size is more often a plus than a minus. Bigger rocks are more powerful and therefore more unifying than smaller rocks.