Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deanikki

Rock Mulch is Wrong

deanikki
15 years ago

I am a Landscape Architect, and have a degree in Horticulture.

I feel I am informed on the proper placement and amendments to make plants healthy. I do wonder how and where I can change the rest of the world. . .not on everything but regarding rock mulch. I lived in Las Vegas for years and have been fighting the "normal" process of placing rock down as a mulch for planting beds. I have seen far too few pros to understand this practice. Organic mulch will add nutrients to the soil, retain water, keep plants cool, and has a nice look. All direct opposites to rock. Yet people still want rock! I moved to ID a few weeks ago. Now people are talking about this new great thing called permi-bark or perminant bark. The area is a buzz with this great new thing, I had hoped to move away from it. How can we change peoples understanding? I even had some glimmer of hope that the new "green" savy consumer would welcome natural organic mulches but that has not happened yet.

Anyway just my little rant about people spreading rock everywhere and then wondering why their plants struggle and their water bill just goes up all the time!

If any one knows the best method and avenue to change this practice let me know.

Comments (15)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago