Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
calidreamer_gw

What do I need for a nursery license?

calidreamer
14 years ago

I am a total newbie and want a nursery license so that I can sell plants online (through my own website and ebay) from my home. I want to legally be able to sell and ship plants across the US. I know it is not a big money maker, but this is what I will enjoy doing. I want to provide rare tropical plants for people to buy and I accept that I may not make anything off of it. I have a regular job and plan to do this on my free time and on the weekends.

I do not have a real stock of plants yet but I will buy my main plants to grow and sell from a wholesale nursery if after I can get nursery license.

I plan to keep the plants in my backyard and they will remain in pots, nothing will be planted in the ground. Is housing the plants in my backyard even acceptable even if it is really small? I know that you have to keep it off the ground so that ants can't get in it, but what sort of structure or equipment is required? If possible, I want to just keep it out in the open with no greenhouse or shaded house, unless it is required for the license. Can anyone comment or share experiences? Thanks a lot.

Caileigh

Comments (4)

• watergal
    14 years ago

I suggest that you start by finding and reading the website for California's Department of Agriculture, or whatever they call it there. Hopefully, someone from CA will see your post soon and help you too.

I know CA has some pretty strict and detailed regulations about what plants can be shipped in and out of the state, in order to keep plant-borne pests and diseases from spreading. And then there are certain types of plants that are illegal to ship into certain states because they could become invasive (water hyacinths in many southern states, for example).