Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diddlydoo

Question regarding Nursery Lanscapers

diddlydoo
17 years ago

Hi,

I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum. I tried to do a seach, but so many forums came up.

I'm getting ready to have a landscaper dome from a nursery in town to suggest a privacy fence type deal and a few other punch list items.

From reading on the gardenweb, I see where some suggest that's not a good idea and how they use older plants they can't get rid of, etc. and that I should get someone else.

Is this true? Those from a flower nursery aren't going to do the best job usually?

What are some pros and cons of this? Any suggestions?

Thanks so much!

This is my first time having someone look at the yard. I was going to put a privacy fence up but decided on natural fence.

Comments (18)

• mylu
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

That would not be true at our nursery. We have our clients pick out the plants they desire and those are the plants we install. I'm quite sure your nursery would do the same.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago

I'm not sure how information like this gets spread, as it is a generalization of the basest kind. Not all retail nurseries or garden centers operate in the same manner, nor do all offer landscape design services, so it is preposterous to make a blanket statement that all will produce work or material that will be second-rate. And it's hardly likely that any independent nursery that wants to stay in business very long in this day and age is going to pass off cut-rate, unwanted merchandise or shoddy design services. The competition is just too intense.