Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scoutjr

Professional Landscaper pricing vs. wholesale for plant material

scoutjr
15 years ago

Hello,

I am new posting to this forum. I am not a professional landscaper, but a consumer. I am not sure how to phrase this, but here goes...we received a quote for some landscaping including plant material. How much is the mark up typically? My sister is a florist and can get me wholesale prices on the shrubs etc. that we would like to plant. Is this unethical (not sure that is the right word) to ask the landscaper to simply install the plants if we buy them ourselves? The whole job would also entail prep work and drainage, so there is still substantial work to do to make it worth his time. I don't want to offend him if it is not appropriate to suggest this. Any opinions? Thank you.

Scoutjr

Comments (11)

• scoutjr
    Original Author
    15 years ago

laag - Thanks for the honest and thoughtful answer. I just wasn't sure about everything that was entailed. I don't want to annoy this guy, as he is very nice. He gave us a quote broken out for each "area' of the yard, is it ok to tell him we want to do this part now and wait on other parts?

• laag
    15 years ago

It is not out of the ordinary for people to have to stagger some activities or pick what they can do now. Howver, you have to understand that the offer to do the work at a certain price is not necessarily going to stay at the same price indefinitely. The contractor will most likely rewrite the contract to reflect the work that you want to do now so that nothing is left hanging out there.

• inkognito
    15 years ago

kudos Andrew. Excellent. Well written and precise.
    Go to the top of the class. for others reading: this is not sarcasm, it is familiarity. Call me old fashioned.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago