Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
indognito

groundskeeping career advice

indognito
13 years ago

Hello all,

I'm seeking advice on a possible career change. I currently work at a professional job that has absolutely nothing to do with groundskeeping, but am considering making a transition into the field. I have no prior experience in groundskeeping (other than planting my own gardens and mowing the properties of some friends and family). While my current job pays relatively well, I've come to realize that being outdoors is very important to me. I'm also quite introverted, and after researching possible jobs that would complement my love of the outdoors as well as my introversion, have realized that there are very few--and groundskeeping might be one of them.

Now, I realize that a lot of groundskeeping work is very low-paying. My hope, however, is that there are full-time groundskeeping jobs out there, perhaps working for cities, parks departments or colleges, that pay well enough for a lower-middle-class lifestyle, and it is to this type of job that I would aspire. (I know I'd have to start off at an entry level job.) I have no interest in being a manager or in owning my own business or even, frankly, in having a lot of money--I just want to be outside, receive orders, follow them to the best of my abilities, get paid and go home.

I don't know if this is even the right place to pose such a question, but thought it was worth a try. Do such groundskeeping jobs exist, and is the best way to obtain one to start in an entry level groundskeeping position somewhere, such as for a lawn care company, and work your way up? Should I seek a professional degree if I have no plans or desire to become a manager?

Thank you for any advice you can offer!!

Comments (3)

• xylosma
    13 years ago