Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
willspray

Growth Regulator Poinsettia

willspray
17 years ago

I am not really a pro, just a serious hobbyist. I am going to try some (200) poinsettias this summer. I've never done them. I've done some research and now that real pros like you guys use growth regulators to keep the plants compact.

Can quality plants be produced without these chemicals? I have a completely climate controlled growing area with ample artificial light. I say that because I know that all other things being equal more light tends to produce more compact plants. I've heard optimal temperature control helps too.

As for the chemicals, do you need to have a license or anything to buy / use Cycocel or Bonzi? Or is the only obstacle finding a wholesaler who will sell it to me?

Comments (5)

• calliope
    17 years ago

Yes, quality poinsettias can be produced without growth regulator with the advent of the naturally short internode plant. When I first started growing them nearly twenty years ago, it was almost a necessity, at least in my latitude, to use them.......but not anymore. The most popular retail poinsettia has been the Freedom series (unless you are a Southern grower) and it's naturally short. In fact I have used lights to retard the bloom so it can size up larger. You can also use temperature inversion to control height, also know as negative diff.

It would help me to help you if you could give me some clue to your latitude or general geographic area.

• willspray
    Original Author
    17 years ago