Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
creatrix_gw

Making the transition

creatrix
16 years ago

I'm a landscape designer who currently makes most of my income from garden maintenance. My design clients not as affluent as the maintenance clients (which I inherited). My former boss said that a gardener will always be a gardener, and not perceived as a designer by these folks.

I have done a bit of renovation for the maintenance clients, but they are not sources/referrals of design work. Have any of ya'll made the transition from gardener to designer?

Comments (2)

• Cady
    16 years ago

I've found that doing garden rejuvenation is a natural segue from pure maintenance to design, and clients are more likely to see you as a designer when they have seen rejuvenation/rehab work. Garden rejuvenation (and advertising it) some time ago, and that requires some design skill -- often, you have to replace tracts of a garden with something entirely new and different, or tweak a former design to fit current needs.

Maybe you could try that approach and see how it flys.

• shadyplaces
    16 years ago

I do garden design and maintenance, but having started from scratch, I didn't have a maintenance base.

I have found that I get most of my clientele with advertising focused on specific targets.

I fix mistakes made by "landscapers" who really are lawn jockeys or hardscapers, but in trying to be full service, they stop at the wholesale nursery and buy some stuff to stick in. No concern whether it belongs where they put it, will thrive, or even looks good. As an example, I moved a row of 15 Elegans hostas, planted along the south face of a retaining wall in full sun. What were they thinking??