Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clemmybug

book recommended for garden project

clemmybug
18 years ago

Hi,

I am by no means a professional gardener but I have a big project to do and was wondering if any of you could recommend a good book that would help me. I am to design a border of perennials that is to be 50 feet long by 15 feet wide. The soil is a rich but well drained loam and the border is sheltered but receives full sun. This garden is to be against a seven foot hedge so has a neutral green backdrop. I need to show a display of perennials from the month of May until the month of October. The scale of the drawing is to be clearly indicated. I can do one design or do as many as I want with seasonal overlays to better clarify my design. The zone is 4/5. As well as the design I need to add an annual maintenance schedule for the plants in the border and names of the plant suppliers.

Right now I have about 50 plants I have choosen and I have about 5 gardenering books I am presently looking through. I know Mark Cullen is quite famous for his Gardening advise but I was told that there was a woman called Louise Whole who is even better. Do any of you have a book that you think would be really helpful for this particular project? I figured it wouldn't hurt to ask the people that do this for a living. You have probably read a lot more books than I have about gardening.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Clemmybug.

Comments (10)

• habitat_gardener
    18 years ago

Tracy diSabato-Aust, The Well-Tended Perennial Garden, is great. Wonderful advice on maintenance. I still haven't gotten a copy of her new book, The Well-Designed Perennial Gardenm which has also gotten rave reviews.

Elizabeth Murray, Monet's Passion, has some overlays showing what's blooming in different seasons in the back of the book. Very nicely done, you may want to look at this book for ideas.

• perennialprincess
    18 years ago

clemmybug: