Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vanillalotus

Being a Hired Gardener

vanillalotus
15 years ago

I'm a college student studying landscape and horticulture. I put out an ad to be a gardener for anyone that needs help planting, planning and taking care of their yards. I've been thinking of starting this as a business but I'm not sure what I should be doing and how I should be doing it on the business end. I'm sure I need contracts but how do I price? Per hour, just a big overall cost if it is one time only job,...etc? Anyone with tips and some ideas to lead me in the right direction. I'm probably in over my head but I'll see how it goes.

Thank you.

Comments (5)

• bonsai_audge
    15 years ago

Hello Vanilla,

I am also a student in the landscape world (Landscape Architecture), and can relate to your situation. I've always thought of starting my own business and have done small work for several people. I've learned a bit here and there about how to organize my work and business and how to deal with people as clients.

However, this summer I am working at an established Landscape Architecture firm, and am learning more than I could possibly imagine doing so by myself. There is a huge advantage in learning from others, as they have a cumulative experience that would take years for you to get on your own. They have been through all of the issues that you will be facing. I am not saying that you should join a company to copy their practices wholesale, but it makes little sense to try to reinvent the wheel when it's already been done many times over. With a model of how a business is run, you can observe, critique, and then eventually modify the practices to best suit yourself. You will save yourself the time and effort of trying different approaches by learning from someone who already has.

- Audric

• vanillalotus
    Original Author
    15 years ago