Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mike758_gw

Thoughts on the Horticultural field? Is it a good career?

mike758
9 years ago

I graduated high school this year, and unlike most my classmates, I decided to go to college for something realistic that I actually enjoy doing, not a field just for the money. Most people go to earn something that will land them a desk job, and many people that do pick a field they enjoy pick something that there aren't many jobs in. I debated between going to college for horticulture or proffessional woodworking, which are two of my biggest hobbies and do have jobs although they have low pay.

I ultimately chose Horticulture, because proffessional woodworking is a very low paying industry ($25k a year average), and a diminishing industry. I got into a free trade school for horticulture, which is completely free, and I go three years for an associates degree. It's a very challenging and strict school with a low acceptance rate, and is one of the topped ranked of its type in the area. The school has a lot of employers that recruit, and every student that graduated in the last 15 years was employed prior to graduation (100% employment rate). The program I am majoring in is Horticulture, Landscaping, and Turf Management, and focuses on many aspects of all industries related to that description.

Anyway, the reason I got into the field is because I love being outside and I'm really into gardening. I haven't ruled out landscaping or turf management fields (which seem to be the better money makers), but I plan as of now to work somewhere in the nursery, commercial growing, proffessional gardening, and those kind of fields. I'm a real simple man, and also a very hard worker, I've been currently working 50 hours a week this summer as a produce market stock person, and I also do my heavy gardening and some carpentry at home after.