Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dabprop

When a new client says...

dabprop
18 years ago

What's your first impulse when you hear these words.." I don't know what I want"

Mine was to run and fast.I was only there to give her an estimate on maintanance gardening work too.

Comments (9)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    18 years ago

I tend to hear that remark quite often, but it doesn't cause me undue alarm - if they knew more, perhaps there would be no need for them to hire a professional?

Although my focus is different from yours (design as opposed to maintenance), I believe the response to this opening statement is the same - you need to draw them out and find out what motivated them to contact a professional in the first place. Many people are not able to adequately articulate what exactly they want yet know innately something is "not right" and that they need help to correct this situation.

Although not a maintenance gardener by trade, I do encounter countless maintenance issues during onsite consultations and inquire of the client specifically if they have maintenance issues regarding certain plants or situations that they would prefer not to have to deal with. Sometimes it is because the situation has gotten so out of hand they are overwhelmed by it and don't even know where to begin to approach it.

So no, my first instinct is not to run but with my experience, help them verbalize what the problem is. Many very rewarding client relationships have begun in just this way. Of course, if you've been in the business any lenght of time you can sense who the real flakes and potential problem clients might be and act accordingly, but I don't think just a nonspecific need for help is necessarily a reason to run for the hills.

• laag
    18 years ago