Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rufusthecat_gw

Landscape Design Charges

rufusthecat
16 years ago

I'm posting this in Professionals and Landscape Design because I'm not sure where is the most appropriate place...I am relatively new to Long Island and have noticed a wide range in what designers charge for a complete, professionally drafted (autoCAD) conceptual landscape plan w/sections/elevations, etc. Having worked for a high end design/build firm in my previous state, then going out on my own, I produce quality plans that don't look amateurish. This has brought me a number of new clients here on Long island, however I'm having a hard time knowing what to charge. I work for both contractors and directly with homeowners. Also, I would like to know what the typical arrangement is when working directly with clients here. Do designers typically bring in their own plants and take an overage or just stick to plans? When I first went out on my own (out West, where I lived) I charged $75 per hour, but then switched to charging per job- anywhere from $500-$2500 depending on the property size and complexity of the project. In my prior state, I lived in an urban area with fairly small yards, but very high end needs (outdoor kitchens, pools, etc). The yards here are much bigger, not usually less than .5 acre. Thanks for any insight anyone can offer! I'm meeting up with a contractor next week to review my work, so I'd like to be armed with better info by then!

Comments (3)

• laag
    16 years ago

It is not an easy answer. It is really based on one thing. That is how much people value your work. It is that simple and it is that difficult.

How much you are valued is partly determined by how well you do your craft. It helps a lot if you are somehow in a position to get work built. But that is actually not the biggest factor. It is how well you are known and by whom.