Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jim_blade

many hydrangea endless summers not blooming

jim_blade
17 years ago

This is my first time using this web site. We planted over 300 hydrangea endless summers over the last 2 years. I've had very discouraging results with them. This year on 3 of our propertys all the endless summers had no blooms or minimal blooms on very healthy looking plants. One of the properties is on the cape in massachusetts and the other 2 our in metro west of boston. Many other properties had not great blooming plants. They were all planted 2 summers ago. last summer was very good for the ones on the cape. boston plants were minimal last year. I'm thinking of ripping them all out as hydrangeas our a signature plant for us. Poor performance by them is not a good thing. Others experiences would be helpful to hear.

Comments (32)

• Latebloomer
    17 years ago

Jim,
    I've noticed the same thing.I carried over 50-60 from last year.They were in tunnel hoops like penny Macs & Nikkos.I would say 50% or so had no blooms what so ever.Plus we had a mild winter last year,what gives.So far I've had no customer complaints.Any body else?
    Thanks,
    Latebloomer

• Embothrium
    17 years ago

Are these being cut back or left alone?

• Latebloomer
    17 years ago

bboy,
    I didn't cut mine back,if they bloom on old and new wood it shouldn't matter.They are suppose to be rebloomers.
    thanks,
    latebloomer

• Embothrium
    17 years ago

Well, they shouldn't be nearly flowerless without pruning, either, yet that is what is happening for you. Maybe if you read detailed description somewhere a limitation will be mentioned that will shed light. If patented I would search USPTO web site using plant patent number search for patent application description. Even if no drawbacks mentioned there you can find out who patent applicant was, sometimes this is a commerical entity with a web site that will have its own profile of plant.

• nwnatural
    17 years ago