Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
midnightstorm_gw

Beginner Needs Help: What Is My Gardening Region (Not Zone)?

MidnightStorm
17 years ago

Hi:

I need help quick! I posted on the Region forum but haven't had any responses so I'm going straight to the professionals.

IÂve just moved to Huntington, West Virginia from Wilmington, North Carolina. I brought many of my garden plants with me when I moved. Huntington is located right on the border of where Ohio, West Virginia, and Kentucky meet. This area is considered Zone 6 but thatÂs about all I know.

When I lived in Wilmington I ordered a wonderful book from Amazon called ÂMonth by Month Gardening in the CarolinasÂ. This book was very helpful to me since I am new to gardening.

I went back to the Amazon site yesterday so I could order a monthly gardening book that was geared to my new area. However, I didnÂt see any books that were specifically for this area. There was a ÂMonth-by-Month Gardening in Tennessee and KentuckyÂ, and a Month-by-Month Gardening in Ohio and a ÂMonth-by-Month Gardening in the Mid-Atlantic (Delaware, Virginia, and Washington, DC)Â.

Does anyone know which of these books would be more appropriate for the Huntington, West Virginia area? If not, can you point me in a direction where I can find out? Because I am a beginner gardener and need to get a book quickly so I'll know which of my plants may be in danger from colder weather in my new zone.

Thanks so much for your help.

Comments (3)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago

I'd think that either the MbyM for Ohio or Kentucky/Tennessee would work, based on your unique location but I'm not sure that either is absolutely necessary. A general plant encylcopedia will provide enough hardiness information on a very wide range of plants so that you can determine which may need additional winter protection in your new location. The American Horticultural Society publishes an excellent one, as is 'Flora', published by Timber Press.